12 candidates in the race for the London City Hall

Image credits: www.theguardian.com

It has been confirmed that 12 candidates enrolled in the race to become the next Mayor. This is a new record for London.

The London Elects officials declared this Friday that the list includes three women and nine men. The elections were scheduled for May 5.

A similar number of candidates, 11, was registered in London’s first Mayoral contest in 2000. Twelve years later, when Mr. Johnson defeated Ken Livingstone, seven candidates competed against each other.

This year, the frontrunner is the Labour candidate, Sadiq Khan. He goes up against the Conservative Zac Goldsmith.

Besides the 2 favorites, there are David Furness from the British National party, the Liberal Democrat Caroline Pidgeon, Peter Whittle, the Green Sian Berry, George Galloway and Zohn Zylinki, the independent Polish prince.

May 5 is also the date when the citizens will be voting the 25 London assembly.